top of page

Guardian of the temple, Japanese Hercules

"Everything has beauty, but not everyone sees it." -Confucius

If you visit to Rome or Florence for the first time, you will notice there are many statues everywhere in the city. Ancient statues in Europe looked so real that I felt as if these were made with a huge 3D printer. They were very voluptuous, and I felt I would see blood dropping if someone cut the body.

We have many statues in Japan too. And in junior high school we usually have a school trip to Kyoto or Nara, which is basically city of temples and Buddha statues. Sadly, during the trip I was busy thinking about playing and talking with my friends, and even when the statue was a national-treasure class important, my brain proceeded as " Ok, another Buddha statue." (Sigh, but who can blame young sassy 14 years old yourself back then?)

Besides, I didn't think they were beautiful. Japanese Buddha statue usually has a big head and Humpty‐Dumpty body, and that was another reason why they didn't get my attention so much.

However, after I encountered ancient European statues, I became curious about "our" statues for the first time in my life finally. Maybe I was not ready to feel the beauty 15 years ago, but how about now?

This is how I started the research.

""When you see statues, there is the best level of eyesight to appreciate."

Seinouke Nakajima, one of the most famous Japanese art appraisers said. The level of eyesight is important because each statue was made to be looked at certain angle. He also says when you see Buddha statues you must look up, don't look down.

"They have a huge head since those were made to be looked up so that the head looks well-balanced in perspective."

Ha. Even we care the angle when we take selfie. If I don't care about the angle, no wonder I can't find the beauty of it!

So I went to Sensouji 浅草寺 temple in Tokyo on my vacation. It was really, really crowded with tourists, but and I visited the temple to see some statue once again- the Kongo Rikishi 金剛力士像 statue. Kongo Rikishi statue is a guardian of the temple. It stands at the gate and protect the temple from evil spirits with its furious look.

When I got there, I tried to look up the statue as he said.

"Wow...This IS amazing."

I've been to Sensouji maybe 5 times or so, but I have never really looked at this statue with special attention. But I felt like I could see him finally. He was furious and divine with his muscular body and big eyes, looking down and seeing through inside of me.

I also learned the roots of Kongo Rikishi statue is Hercules, the Greek mythic hero!

According to a book I read, there is a Hercules statue next to Buddha in Eastan Afghanistan/Northwest Pakistan (used to be called "Gandhāra area") and it turned out this form when it came to Japan.

"Really?? Are you and Hercules related?" I was surprised by the fact that the two different style of cultures were mixed at some point, and standing in front of me after a long historical journey.

The statue is no longer a boring, old remaining of Japanese history. I can feel the beauty now. Why I haven't noticed until today?

"You need to prepare if you want to find beauty. Studying history or reading books, or listening to music...you can feel the beauty only when you are ready. "

What Seinouke Nakajima said seems right. Maybe I was not ready when I visited Kyoto in junior high school, but I think I can enjoy and taste it now.

I remember I was watching the movie "Smoke" with my dad when I was in university. And honestly, I didn't get the story well.

So I asked, "And...what is this movie all about?" My dad stayed silent for 5 seconds. He told me, "People lie in this movie. But no one gets hurt. Being adults means you don't have to be honest all the time."

Again, I didn't really understand what he said at the time.

But I feel like eventually I will see what he meant someday, and understand why people love the movie as a masterpiece.

Sympathetic vibration happens when the time is right.

It is difficult to appreciate and understand your own culture sometimes, since it's near you, you can see anytime and you don't really feel special.

But once you become ready, and if you can pay attention and notice the existence, it will always welcome you with a warm emotional hug.

And I hope it will make you want to say "Oh hey, I've wanted to see you for a long time! ", just like I met Japanese Hercules finally.

特集記事
後でもう一度お試しください
記事が公開されると、ここに表示されます。
最新記事
アーカイブ
タグから検索
まだタグはありません。
ソーシャルメディア
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page