top of page

Florence, the city that colors people 4.- Craft works -


Sicne I decided to come to Florence, I did a research to know what I should take a look and buy there.

And as I imagined, Florence is very famous for leather products.

And yes of course it's true, but there is another craft work that represents Florence craft culture- the Florence style grass work.

I was fascinated by the beauty right after I saw the picture on the internet. And I thought, "I have to visit this shop."

The name of the shop is "DOMO Mosaici", it is located via Scala street, in front of Farmaceutica di Santa Maria Novella, one of the oldest pharmacies in the world.

You can see the amazing grass products through the show case. Since I'm a girl(I expect this is an operative excuse haha) it made me REALLY excited!

Maybe you thought, Venice is also famous for the grass craft. When I was looking at those grass products, it made me wonder what the difference is.

"In Venetian style, they melt different grass pieces together and shape it as one grass. But we draw delicate patterns with fine glass rods."

says Maurizio, the ower of DOMO.

I personally prefer Florence style better, because look at those elaborate patterns...there is no same products, each one is handmade.

Honestly, I wish I could have spent hours just looking at these if I had more time.

But my stay was really short, so I picked up a life-time present for myself .

"This is the ONE."

I fell in with this neckless. I'm so glad I could take this beautiful girl to my home!

DOMO is an amazing shop. I definitely want to visit again when I come back to Florence.

And of course, I bought some leather products too.

This is another present for myself, I bought it on the street. It has the Fleur-de-lis, a stylized lily that is the emblem of Florence. It was 60 euro, and although I'm not really familiar with leather products it's really easy to carry on, and it would cost double if I buy in Japan.

And I bought these as souvenirs for my friends, traditional triangle leather coin pouch.

I learned Florence is a city of craft works. I respect their amazing techniques, tradition and history. If I go to Florence again I want to visit those factory and see how they make these products.

特集記事
後でもう一度お試しください
記事が公開されると、ここに表示されます。
最新記事
アーカイブ
タグから検索
まだタグはありません。
ソーシャルメディア
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page