top of page

Florence, the city that colors people 3. - Christian architectures -

As you know, Italy has many historical architectures.

"Everyone goes to the Cathedral in Florence. It's just too beautiful to ignore."

My friend Yonosuke told me before. And now I understand what he meant.

Florence

The presence of the Cathedral is amazing.

This huge church was built 700 years ago, and located in almost the center of the city.

"OH MY GOD...What the hell is this thing...??"

That was my first impression when I saw the Cathedral. It is too big and beautiful, I didn't know what to say since I had never seen something like it before.

I was overwhelmed by the presence. I don't know anything about architecture, but I thought about people who built the Cathedral several hundred years ago.

Seriously, how can human beings make things like this??

Florence Cathedral

The beautiful painting on its ceiling made by Giorgio Vasari and Federico Zuccari

brought me to tears. It was a wierd feeling. I didn't know what overwhelmed me that much since I'm not even a chiristian, just speechless.

Then I realized the reason why when I visited Santa Maria Novella next.

It is because the church made me thought about people who prayed here over 800 years. Confession and struggle, introspection...all the emotions are happening here. The church itself represents human beings' ”life”. Maybe that's why it is special, and reaches out to people who are visiting.

At the Florence Cathedral, you can donate and light a candle,

When I light up the candle, I hoped my thoughts and prayers will become a part of the church as everyone's. And it stays there forever and welcomes people visiting, and touchs their heart like they did to me.

特集記事
後でもう一度お試しください
記事が公開されると、ここに表示されます。
最新記事
アーカイブ
タグから検索
まだタグはありません。
ソーシャルメディア
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page