top of page

Florence, city that colors people 5.- the City of Flowers -


The night I visited the Florence Cathedral, I had a strange dream. It was twisted, and there were many people in my dream including my ex and friends, my parents, and I woke up sobbing(seriously, real tears). It was my first experience in my life almost 30 years. It was a sad dream, but somehow I felt really relaxed after I got off from the bed.

I guess my sensitivity became highly receptive after I was overwhelmed at the church.

And I had a good detox in the end.

Besides, the reason could be a whole atmosphere of the city. When I visited, flowers were blooming everywhere, and everything seemed very tender. I think I visited in one of the best season in Florence.

The city of flowers is also a city of art. I found many interesting graffiti on the wall.

I'm going to show you.

(some of these seem to be drawn by a same person)

I only stayed in Florence for 2 days this time. I know, it's crazy and I should definitely come back to see more things here. But my my point is, even 2 days I feel like my world became more beautiful than before I left Japan. It's the power of this city of flowers, that embraces visitors kindly, no matter who they are and where they are from.

Through this trip I learned something- life needs deep emotion.

There is a saying in bible "Man shall not live on bread alone", and Japanese philosopher Koichiro Kokubu add a following part in his book 暇と退屈の倫理学(Ethics of freedom and boredom)

Yes, we need bread to live. But we cannot live on bread alone.

And we need roses too, to decorate our life.

Art, itself may be considered as entertainment, and some people might think it is not the most important matter compared to economics or politics. But we still need "roses" to make us feel fully alive, which could be paintings or music, architectures- Art. And maybe that's the reason why we love Florence, since the city gives us a hug with its very tender atmosphere.

特集記事
後でもう一度お試しください
記事が公開されると、ここに表示されます。
最新記事
アーカイブ
タグから検索
まだタグはありません。
ソーシャルメディア
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page